Erratic Blips

By Major_Blip

Up Line, Down Line

On the railways they designate the two lines as the Up Line and the Down Line. In this case, the one on the left is the up line to Perth and the one on the right is the down line to Inverness.

From Scotland the line South to London is called the up line and the line from London to Scotland is the down line. As a child living in Scotland this always confused me because I always thought about it as going down to London and coming back up to Scotland. To be honest, it still does confuse me. My Dad was a Stationmaster so he never got it wrong.

This photo was taken from a bridge which crosses the Perth - Inverness line just south of Luncarty at Denmarkfield. Why it is called that is a whole other story which I will bore you with another day.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.