Doddington Hall

Well last night the ambulance finally arrived to collect my Dad at about half past eleven. I had intended to go and meet him at the hospital but it was decided that I should go and stay with my Mum instead. So I spent the night at their place.

I didn't see my Mum at all, she slept all night. I did not of course! There were many flies buzzing around me which were annoying, and I was alert to every little sound. Ally was meant to be spending the night in Estelle's dog kennel but he "escaped" and managed to appear at the back door at about 4 AM. I was quite glad of his company actually and he snuggled up with me!

My Dad called at 5-30 AM to say that he was ready to come home. He wanted me to call his usual taxi driver, but I didn't have the brass neck to wake someone up at that time and asked Brian to do it instead. 

My Dad arrived back still not right and very tired, having had no sleep. He'd had a battery of tests but nothing was found to say what the problem was. He had some strong antibiotics though, and had been told to rest.I got him settled, made him a drink and left him to sleep.

Brian brought me home and I had a few hours sleep. Bri has a few days off fortunately, so he could have a bit more kip too.

Today we had booked to go to Doddington hall. There was an exhibition of dragonfly sculptures that are being sold in aid of St Barnabas hospice charity. Brian had ordered one and it allowed him free entry for two to the exhibition.

There had been a more general sculpture exhibition on there previously and many of the exhibits from that were still in situ, though some were being crated up and taken away in vans when we arrived. This sycamore leaf face was my favourite of them. It makes me think of a modern take on the traditional Green Man, but I don't know if that was the intention. I've added a couple of extras - one of the dragonfly exhibits - the likes of which will be taking pride of place in our home, and a real dragonfly along to have a look at the exhibits!

After wards we had a quick lunch from the B&Q car park burger tram - delicious! Then it was back to Metheringham for me.

My Dad was of course very tired, and dozed a lot of the time while I was there. I did a few jobs for them and kept my Mum occupied. She was fairly civil and quite polite in telling me to go home as I was not needed - the usual message but in more polite terms!

When it was time for Brian to fetch me my Dad was having a steady walk in the garden accompanied by Ally!

Then we headed off to do the weekly Tesco shop. I was glad to finally get home and take my shoes off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.