Auckland City

This morning I had no intention of posting another sunrise. I set out on my morning run with the aim of another Ponsonby Road picture for the One Street project. Not long into the run I went past a new development, known as Ponsonby Central; some workmen were there. One was up a ladder using a metal cutter, and spraying sparks. Liked the image, and was content.

Carried on intending to follow one of my familiar running routes. For no particular reason I opted to turn left rather than the familiar right turn. A little later, another left turn to go up Shelly Beach Road, followed by a glance to my left. There I saw a wonderful sky above a scrap of cityscape.

About turn. Down Shelly Beach Road and and past the Wrong Way signs (for cars) as I went onto the bridge connecting the off ramp from the Auckland Harbour Bridge to Shelly Beach Road. (Safely on the footpath.) There I was able to look across Westhaven Marina to the central city buildings, including the Sky Tower, and watch the sunrise.

Both S and I preferred this picture over the others taken at different stages of the rising sun. It was taken less than two minutes before the sun could be seen through the lowest point of the skyline. (Also less than two minutes after I arrived on the bridge.) The reflection in the water of the colour of the sky was best in this picture. It feels proper to include the city skyline; otherwise this could almost be anywhere.

I recommend looking at the larger version.

I am posting much earlier than usual, as we are going to head back north to Snells Beach this afternoon, so that S can spend as much time as possible tomorrow with her mother, whose 93rd birthday it is.

In advance, I apologise for not doing much looking and less commenting in the next days, as I read agenda papers to Mars for the Council meeting next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.