Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Paddy the Pelican!

Another day of walking miles! There was a bit of sun today, so we set off via Mrs Windsor's House, heading towards Trafalgar Square. Crowds outside the Queenie's house. Something was about to happen! Ah yes, soldiers marching, playing instruments etc. We'd seen it last time. Soldiers on horses! Too far away.

We walked to St James' Park. What did I spy across on the other side of the pond? Yes! It was Mr and Mrs Pelican!! Any thoughts of seeing a bit of marching and pomp were cast aside, and we rushed round to the pelicans. JR, it has to be said, with some reluctance.

I spent many many hours stalking pelicans in Noosa last summer, trying to get near them and hoping they'd do something, and here was Percy's cousin, Paddy, holding his wings out photogenically, in a park, in London!

There were also squirrels and pigeons. A man was feeding them and I sat down on the bench to try to get a squirrel to take a nut from my hand. Pigeons swarmed in and landed on my arm. And my shoulder. And my camera!!

JR took lots of photos with the compact camera, between giggles. You very nearly were treated to a blip of me with a pigeon on my head. Luckily, the camera settings were still set for the blip I took in the dark on the bus, and so they were all overexposed... So you're spared!

A visit to the Portrait Gallery, saw Kate's portrait (nice) and the Photographic Portrait Awards, then lunch at a very nice cafe, which extended to wine and chatting to the staff. At one point I told the Aussie waitress that one track on the music was awful, and she immediately deleted it from the playlist. My kind of place!!

Then we met up with Chamaeleo for coffee and chat. We followed Chamaeleo home. Chamaeleo's mum is my cousin, so we were expected!

A super tea supper with the rellies, and we were treated to Chamaeleo's special coffee from the special coffee machine. Then we were driven all the way back to our hotel by C. Talk about spoilt!

Another great day in London Town. And no facts about kings and queens to try to remember!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.