GLADIOLI

I bought this bunch of Gladioli in Tesco on Wednesday.  It was reduced in price to £1.23. ( strange price ). None of the flowers were out so I figured it was a good buy.  Quite a few flowers are open now so they were ready to be blipped for Flower Friday hosted by BikerBear.

Some facts about Gladioli ~~~

They are the birth flower of August.

Gladioli are the flowers associated with a fortieth wedding anniversary.

The Australian comedian and personality Dame Edna Everage's signature flowers are gladioli which she refers to as "gladdies". ( I saw Dame Edna on stage at The Theatre Royal in Newcastle and at the end of the show she threw Gladioli flowers into the audience and I was lucky enough to catch one.) 

The Mancunian singer Morrissey is known to dance with gladioli hanging from his back pocket or in his hands, especially during the era of The Smiths. This trait of his was made known when he performed  "This Charming Man", where he swung a bunch of gladioli while singing.

Musical link The Smiths - This Charming Man 

Today it has rained on and off all day.  Some of the downpours were heavy.  I wanted to go to the Co-op but I decided to try and go during a dry spell.  It got to 5pm and it looked set fair so off I went.  It proved to be a good time to go as it stayed dry all the time I was out.  It was really windy though and I needed gloves as it was rather chilly. As usual when I go to The Co-op late in the day I was able to get some reduced items.  Today I got potatoes, apples, a couple of tubs of fruit salad and some salmon.  And they had the ice cream lollies that I like in stock - and everything else on my list.  So it was a good shopping trip.

That's about as exciting as it got today.  Since the local lockdown came into force my already small world has shrunk even smaller so I have to be content with staying local.  I'll manage.

On 25th September 2008 Becky and Mike got married in The Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas.  I have so many happy memories of that wonderful day. I have added a collage as an Extra. 

My sister in law sent me a photo of my niece and the new baby.  I will add that as an Extra too.  The little one is still nameless.

Steps today - 9.615

CORONA CLASSIC - Not classical music but this is the song that Becky and Mike chose to have playing during the Fountain Display after their wedding ceremony on the balcony.

 Fly Me To The Moon by Frank Sinatra - Bellagio Fountain Show in Vegas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.