Success and not so much!

I turned out a really pleasing frittata for dinner today which we both enjoyed and there is leftovers for tomorrow, which always pleases me. Not so much the loaf! The first time ever I forgot to add the yeast to the bread machine! Totally inedible lunch for us, but the hens will be pleased to have it added to their meal, so not all lost! Luckily I always freeze any of our homemade bread not used so there is always toast. So toast it was!
It was so grey and damp and miserable that I couldn't seem to get settled with anything. I did sew  a bit more Luna Rabbit and it is taking shape I have vowed to get one whole body completed tomorrow as it is so close to being finished, then I can start on its clothes and accessories.
Since I started using BorrowBox I have listened to more books than I could ever have read in the time. My current loan is So, Anyway.....the autobiography of John Cleese, also read by him which I am very much enjoying. I love the BorrowBox service because I can easily return a book at no cost if I'm not enjoying it, and borrow another. I have reserved a copy of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club as it has been so acclaimed, but at the moment it is already on loan until 31 January! I hope I won't be disappointed after the long wait! If anyone has any suggestions of reading matter it will be gratefully received. I'm willing to try anything except Horror and Fantasy. I tried the Jack Reacher books, of which I have read many, but for me they don't translate well to the audio; too many descriptive fights!
My call to mum found her in good spirit. The weekly coffee morning gathering, social distanced of course, was allowed to start up again in the residents lounge of her sheltered housing. The lounge has been a 'no go' area  for the last 6 months. A real shame for all those living there who were used to getting together on a regular basis, even if it was no more than a cuppa and a chat. Although only about half a dozen attended she was more than pleased to see a few more faces than she does most days. I hope it continues. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.