Another grand day out

A damp, dreich morning but I girded my loins, packed my wee backpack, unwrapped the 2nd Mr DIY mask and set off for, Dundee.

It was the Megabus to Aberdeen and I had a good view of the Fife countryside from the upper deck. By the time I arrived at the V&A there was blue sky and almost sun.

The main destination for today was the Mary Quant exhibition. It was brilliant, but the clothes were so tiny, as in slim. A 10 was a lot smaller in the early 1960's than it is now.

I never had any Quant clothes but I had ones influenced by her, mini skirts, obviously. A green coat with the iconic front zip I wore to Murrayfield. An orange PVC raincoat that famously I wore to a case in the High Court (it was the trial of the Dutch guy who the his bride off Salisbury Crags) when I was a Con Law student. It rustled so much I had to leave.

Then lunch overlooking the silvery day and a wander round the Scottish design gallery. Spent some money in the shop and then back to Edinburgh, on the same bus. The homeward journey wasn't as enjoyable. My tolerance of other people's young children is low though I did get a lovely pic of my precious two with their lanterns, celebrating the Mooncake (mid Autumn) Festival.

When I got home the cub was curled up beside the pond. Seemed happy to see me! Later a catch up call with cousin D. All is well in Troon and the golfing is keeping him sane and fit. After that I started to watch 'The Singapore Grip'. It's a bit discombobulating as it's supposed to be 1940's Singapore but it was filmed in 2019 (?) KL. First scene is Carcosa Seri Negara, loud cries of - 'I've stood there' and quite a bit of stop/start as I tried to identify other buildings.

I'm hoping for a better night's night tonight, though not banking on it.

Good news that the Christmas Festivals are cancelled, the only wise decision. We can enjoy a return to the dour Edinburgh of the Swinging 60's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.