Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Desert Sunset

During the drive up the hill to my house I noticed what looked like enough clouds in the sky to form a pretty sunset. By the time I got home, I saw them starting to dissipate. I had no view from my driveway so I walked up the street looking for one. I ended up in the desert in time to catch what little color the waning clouds created.

When I left this morning, the garage was pretty hot but the outside air was cool. I decided to do something I never do. I left the door open about two feet from the bottom thinking it would help cool it down. When I returned, there was a Cactus wren sitting on top of my hot water tank. I had a camera in my car but I panicked. I picked up some newspaper and waved it around until the poor wren flew out.

2020 Summary (so far)
*105 days at or above 100°/37.8° (Record)
*57 days of 105°/40.6° (Record)
*1.62 inches of monsoon rain (second driest)
*ZERO rain in September

Our only hope for rain in the next couple of months: hurricanes coming up from Mexico via the Gulf of California. Two have already missed us. It’s pretty bad when you want a hurricane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.