Pages from my Alaska Journal

My work on the Alaska book of Ann’s poems, our photos and account of the journey is still ongoing and acting as emotional catharsis for me at the moment.  It was an amazing trip and one I’ll never forget.  Some of you might remember that I began it when I found a selection of Ann’s poems on  a portable drive.  The trip was 15 years ago and as AndrewFH says, my photography has moved on since then (and so have the cameras) but it’s provided me with a great deal of solace.  I’ve got the book into a draft shape and depending on what I think my audience and purpose are, it could end up taking on a variety of forms.  AndrewFH  has looked at it carefully and made a series of observations and suggestions which I will think about.  If anyone else would like to see what I’ve done so far there is a draft copy available on my ISSUU site - let me know and I’ll send a link.  He also suggested I add more pages from the journal I kept of our trip.  I photographed some double page spreads this morning and have added a couple to the latest draft of my book, but I’m not too sure yet if they might not make the book longer and more of a distraction.  I thought I’d share them here - I will rephotograph with a tripod if I decide to include any of them.

Other than that it’s felt like a bit of a messy day, though I have succeeded in changing over our account with Yorkshire Water and our lovely boiler engineer is coming to have a look for me because the system needs re-pressurising as it’s on the boundary of going into the red and I can’t move the key!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.