JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Clearing out the stable

Not the Augean stables, fortunately...
Milly, the family pony, moved to her new home a month ago. I haven't visited her there, partly because I want her to have an uninterrupted settling in period, and partly because of the rising Covid figures. Taking avoidable chances seems daft at the moment.  But I get photo and video updates several times a week, and the reports so far are all good.
I've been conscious of avoiding the final steps in clearing out her stable (and had arranged to keep paying rent for a few weeks anyway, in case anything went wrong with the move). But today I had a bit of spare time, the sun was shining and I decided to get up to the farm and collect the final bits and bobs. I do miss Milly herself, and the peaceful times at the farm, a great deal. However, I don't have any doubts about the decision itself; she is already losing weight and looking better since the move.
The stable block Milly used to use was adapted by Brian, the Grandad in the farm family (he now has dementia, and is in a care home). Some of the stout boards that make up partitions between the stables have been reused from a previous life.  I've often visualised Brian, in his younger days, doing all that heavy work, and wondered what the history of some of those lovely old boards might be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.