The way I see it.

By christinePears

The challenge!

Since moving to Ardersier 8 months ago I have been very busy getting the inside of the house looking like home. That part is not quite over but as spring is not far off I find myself increasingly turning my attention to the garden. Or maybe that should be gardens ......there's one at the front. a distinct bit at each side and then there is this.... the 45 degree slope at the back that leads up to an upper lawn! The view from the top is spectacular and that little white thing sticking out of the ground is the remains of the previous owners satellite dish! Apparently the signal from the top of the garden was better than from the roof!

When I moved in last summer I cut the grass on the slope once and decided right there and then to apply Roundup weed killer to the whole area. I love plants and hate cutting even a flat lawn so it was a no brainer. The Roundup worked a treat and I have been working away, when time and weather permit, at digging over the whole area. The soil is a wonderful crumbly texture and it just falls apart when turned over. In the autumn I planted a few things and and am really looking forward to getting it all planted up and spending time watching it all develop.

I was in B&Q today and was thrilled to get 3 packs of 6 primula for 1.75 each (they only needed a good drink) 2 shrubs for 1 pound each and a sage and curry plant knocked down to 50p! Between getting little bits and pieces from friends and keeping an eye out for bargains I don't intend to spend too much getting it all planted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.