Out with Summer and in with Winter!

The ground was white again this morning and there's a weather warning for heavy snowfall tomorrow and Wednesday. So it seemed a good time to change to winter tyres on one of the cars so if the roads turn icy we can still get around.
It's still windy and the temperature is hovering around 0°C so changing the wheels was a chilly business and I needed some warmer clothes that have been in storage since the spring. Here's what was in the bag I took out. A mixture of hats, gloves, scarves, mittens, and even a pair of gaiters. And I know that somewhere in our storeroom is another bag with even more of the same.
Do I really need 15 pairs of gloves? Well, there's gloves for when it's just a bit chilly, gloves for when it's really cold, liner gloves for when the normal gloves aren't enough, mittens, and the reflective gloves for walking on the road in the dark. Then there are gloves for smart use (black or brown leather, slightly polished) and gloves for rough work like chopping wood or changing wheels (old gloves with split fingers and bits of lining hanging out!) Not even included in the 15 pairs of gloves are the cross-country skiing and the downhill skiing gloves!  It's the same for hats, but not so many scarves are needed, at least for me because I don't really like scarves and only wear them when forced to by the weathert.
And this is just the start of the winter clothes. My hi-tech inner clothing layer (long johns and vests in old-speak) is still in the store room, as are my winter jackets, and my really warm boots.
As all that comes out the shorts, some t-shirts, short-sleeved shirts and summer hats will disappear into the store-room. We need a lot of storage space in our climate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.