A day in the life

By Shelling

Edit

Not much of a blip day, I've hardly been outside. I promised to help a friend make a recording of her singing a song in arabic with me accompanying her on the guitar. She's not used to recording and had an idea of it taking fifteen minutes. Interesting learning-curve for her. We spent two hours producing a first draft before she had to go and she got lots of insights.

After lunch and a rest I shared some old recordings from 1976, when I was studying music in a gymnasium in Malmö in the south of Sweden. It's one of my earliest recordings, I've always been interested in making sound-documentation and when my co-musician contacted me about the event I was proud to still have the recording. Now, it's digitalised and sent off to my old friend as a time document to listen to. People prefer videos from concerts these days and they are also nice to have, but sound recordings awakens deep layers of the memory and images turn up that are different from a video recording. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.