DO YOU RECOGNISE THESE? PINKTOBER 21

We don’t get much chance to use the “best china”, our Royal Albert, Lavender Rose, these days, so as we have friends coming this afternoon and one just happens to have a birthday, I thought I would get out the decent cups, saucers and plates,  pretend that everything is normal and have a birthday tea - well cakes anyway!

When I was in M & S yesterday, I was wandering around and saw these Percy Pig cakes and thought they would make excellent little birthday cakes - and of course, I will put a candle on the birthday boy’s cake - all physically distanced, of course, but he will not be allowed to blow the candle out - that would be against the rules!  It’s a shame that the rain has been hammering down all morning and still is now, otherwise we could have had a garden party - but we will still enjoy being together.

There will be four of us, so I daresay that two of the cakes - there were six in the pack, but I preferred just having five on the plate - will go back home with them for our grandson, who has loved Percy Pigs since he was a little boy.  In fact, I used to tell him stories about how I went into Marks & Spencer and was looking for Percy Pig sweets for him and he loved to hear how many tills I went to before I eventually found some and managed to buy them for him.  He is now in his twenties, but still likes them!  I must admit, I am quite partial to them myself.

I have looked at the calorie count for each cake and it is 349!!  Ah well, I believe that when the birthday person is celebrating too, all calories leak out!

Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free.  Thank you.

"Too often we underestimate 
     the power of a touch, 
          a smile, 
               a kind word, 
a listening ear, 
     an honest compliment, 
          or the smallest act of caring, 
               all of which have the potential 
                    to turn a life around.”
Leo Buscaglia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.