Doing The Continental

The last thing I expected to find walking around the block in Sants, Barcelona was a Lincoln Continental motor car.   It was made into a famous Corgi model complete with an illuminated colour TV and when I was a boy my desire to possess one knew no bounds.   What a joy to see this immaculate example here today!

President Kennedy was assassinated while he rode in the back of a specially extended version.  I've stood on the platform at the back of that very limousine which is displayed in the Henry Ford Museum in Michigan.   I was shocked then, and still am, that after the car was released from the evidence pound, it had a roof put on it and continued in service until 1977... even Jimmy Carter rode in it, sitting in that fateful seat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.