Seelye

By Seelye

Preview ... Dia De Los Muertos

I got most of my Day of the Dead altar put together today, I still need the gold marigold flowers. It's such a beautiful and ancient tradition in Mexico. Over 2,000 years old.

This one section you can see a photo of my parents, they are strolling purposefully in Seattle, Washington not long after they were married. That was November, 1945. The candle holder was my mother's, the Glen Livet was my father's. It is stored in a beautiful tin and I had it many years as did my dad. I am actually the one that opened it and shared a toast to my dad with friends. I have some left to share with my family. Both items represent things of my parents and also things they appreciated. It it not unusual to see a person's favorite food, drink, sweet, or a sentimental item on display with their photo. On November 1st you are getting ready and inviting their spirit in. Then on Nov 2nd the gates open for your loved ones that have passed to visit. :-)

I made a Devil's Food Chocolate Cake with chocolate buttercream frosting today for Avelino that we will have tomorrow evening. It is for his birthday that was earlier this month. I decided to wait until Antonio is visiting to make it. It is decadent...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.