SP

I think that this might be my first self portrait on Blipfoto.

What a great day today, beautiful weather, a bit cold in the wind but nice to get out. We have had a couple of walks and I managed 1.5 hrs out on the bike.

The Preston to Blackpool railway line is closed today, while they work on the bridges prior to the electrification of the line, a lot of the bridges need raising to allow room for the power lines.

I stopped to have a look at the work on the bridge next to Kirkham and Wesham Station where they are trying to do the work and still keep the bridge open to traffic. Have a look here if you have got time to have a look at the crane that they brought in to carry out the work and here is a panorama of the bridge work. I don't know who is managing the job but I was surprised to see one chap working with a cutting torch being watched by more than 10 other workers from the crane firm (Ainscough) the main contractor (Murphy) and representatives from Northern Rail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.