Happy Trails

It was a very late night (early morning) last night after dinner with friends. I don't often overdo it - I just can't handle hangovers anymore and I hate to ruin a day feeling rotten. Long gone are the days when I could shake it off like a dog shakes off water!

Somehow though this time I survived intact despite drinking twice my usual safe limit! Maybe it was the extra 5 hours asleep I had, and the serious amount of food... Either way, I deserved worse!

It was a beautiful day today - crisp and cool with skies clear and blue, criss-crossed with contrails and light clouds. We walked about 5 miles locally as all the signs of spring were emerging. Lapwings were whirling their drunken flight paths and whooping loudly their distinctive call, a herald of the change of season. Collared doves were flirting and preening, feathers fluffed up to impress.

I could see from home, the colours of a sunset that might have been the best of the year so far. I couldn't see it properly and while I was tempted to dash to the moor to get it, I was already content with the day and was cooking, so I had to let this one go. I hope one of the local blippers snapped it :o)

Thank you *so* much for the reaction to yesterday's photo. I was overwhelmed by your comments; thank you for each one, and for the faves, stars and subs. I would dearly love to respond in kind to every comment, and while I'll try, if I don't have the opportunity I hope you know I appreciate it very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.