Feeling blue

For the first time in the 6 years I have been at my school, today I seriously questioned whether I want to be a teacher. I'm annoyed, frustrated and wondering how the hell a 14 year old boy can make me feel so completely and utterly despondant.

Why as a profession do we have to deal with behaviour from a very small minority of students that, if they were adults and dishing out the same sort of defiant, ignorant attitude towards their bosses or coworkers, doctors, paramedics, postal workers, railway employees etc, they would be sacked, arrested or civil action taken against them. Instead, we have to tolerate, not shout back, keep our temper and then write paperwork and spend disproportionate amounts of time working with this minority at the expense of the hundreds of polite, well behaved, motivated and engaged children. I WANT to teach. I want the satisfaction of knowing that I have impacted positively. I do NOT want to feel like I do now because a couple of kids think that it is their right to challenge, argue and intimidate.

Is it worth it? I'm not sure. Maybe I will feel better in the morning, or after the Easter holidays.

30 more till 365...going to see if I can do it without a break!

Other flowers from today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.