An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Top up

My bath tub pond was looking very low on water (too much heat, not enough rain), so I topped it up whilst watering the plants this morning. The fish looked very happy to have some clear water to swim about in! These tiny fish are Golden Medaka, whose natural environment is rice fields in Asia. They are ideal for a small pond as they eat mosquito larvae - which is the main reason I got them. They have bred like crazy - my original 10 are now dozens or even hundreds!

A minor fire drama at Kangaroo Ground this afternoon (unlike the very major fire drama unfolding to the West of us in Donnybrook this afternoon/evening). Just past the roundabout where I turn off for school, there was a small fire on the nature strip/grass verge (which to me screams cigarette butt/ash out of car window - how can anyone be so stupid!). A few minutes later, on the return trip, the fire had spread half way up the field and the local CFA were dealing with it very quickly. It was amazing how far it had travelled, with very little wind, in just a few minutes. Much too close to the school for comfort. My phone is dinging me constantly with fire warnings and alerts.

Bigger fishies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.