Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Veteran's Day

This is the day we celebrate and honor those living among us who have served honorably in the military. Twenty-nine of our forty-five presidents served in the military or a state militia (early days). From among them, only two survive: Jimmy Carter was a Naval Academy graduate and  served 7+ years on carriers and submarines, and George W. Bush served in the Texas Air National Guard (but it's unclear whether he fulfilled his obligation).
Veteran's Day is not to be confused with Memorial Day, which honors those who died in service to the country.

Clockwise from top left: a U.S. Air Force jet, my neighbor's American flag,  a Curve-billed thrasher and a Verdin.

Another active day. I even vacuumed the house!  I sat on the patio for the first time since last spring. I put sunscreen on but missed a patch on one thigh. I know because I got sunburn.

To veteran's around the world, thank you for your service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.