Strava Art

Strava activity

Work is having a Strava art competition with the theme of GIS. Since I am of the main users of the work strava group I thought I better give it a shot, especially as I had the day off. I thought about what I could do on my cycle, planned it on Garmin Connect so I could follow the route on my watch, then set off around lunchtime. I was expecting to just make it back before it got dark.

I was going fairly well and it was easy to follow my watch but then around half way (in Florida) i got a puncture. I swapped inner tubes but my hand pump was doing nothing. I was getting cold at this point but luckily M drove to meet me with a track pump. There must have been glass still in the tyre as the new tube had a hole in. I swapped it out with my only other spare but the same thing happened again so M drove me home. I found one last spare tube and was careful to check the tyre and third time lucky I had a pumped up tyre. I headed out in the dark and was able to carry on the route 3 hours 29 mins after I paused for the puncture.

It got a bit boring at the end, especially all the traffic lights and the fact all the hills were all at the end but I was very happy with the finished route. The distance on my watch was 56km but it would have been closer to 80km accounting for the times my watch was stopped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.