sarah

By Sarahsnaphappy

:: White Pine Needles ::

Extract from the journal Autumn, by Henry David Thoreau.

Sept 25, 1859 "Holding a white pine needle in my hand and turning it in a favorable light, I perceive that each of its three edges is notched or serrated with minute forward-pointing bristles.  So much does nature avoid an unbroken line that even this slender leaf is serrated..."

Our back yard is covered in these pine needles and needless to say I've never looked at one that closely.   After reading Thoreau's description I set out to get a macro of one.  Easier said than done. 
Using a manual focus vintage lens I decided on this abstract looking one.   You can just about see the serrated edges.  
The extra photo shows a whole pine needle.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.