Droplets

It poured rain all day and into the night. At times it was heavy, wind driven rain that pelted the windows and could be heard on the roof. When it let up enough so as not to ruin my camera I walked onto the porch and used my zoom lens to get in close to a water droplet on my Japanese maple tree.
I've seen some really great water droplet shots done by fellow Blippers and I was mesmerized by the art of the photo. I had no idea there was all kinds of technique used to get these shots. There are actually two different styles of water droplet shots. You can capture water splashing up from a pool or you can capture water on surfaces such as leaves and spider's webs. I've done spider webs before (although not very impressively).
I came across a website of an artist/photographer who does amazing things with this type of water droplet art. You have to check it out. It's very calming to look at these images and I would love to get good at it.
I'm still dealing with my sore back and have actually decided to make an appointment with the doctor since my methods are not working. I've certainly been down this road before so I pretty much know when it's time to get a professional opinion. Everyone in my house has caught my grandson's cold and so to add insult to injury I now have a cough which as you can imagine is no fun with a bad back. On days like this I'm very grateful I have Blipfoto so that I can focus on other things besides the huge pity party I was giving myself this morning. I wish I was one of those people who would get really pissed off when life gets you down. I'd probably be much more productive. Once my back is better and I use a tripod, it will be interesting to see how I can improve on this water droplet technique.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.