Day 247 Vintage

Today I'm featuring not more of my own extensive collection of earrings but some pairs that belonged to my mother.  My main pic is of a pair of porcelain flower clip on earrings: all her earrings were clip ons as ear piercing was not such a big thing in the UK  in her era.  I can't remember precisely which outfits she wore with this  daytime  pair but I can with the two 1950s evening pairs featured in my extras.  The blue flower pair were worn with an evening dress of black with dark blue and gold bands in the design.  I refashioned it eventually for a dress for myself and no longer have  it or any fabric remnants.  The pink flower pair were worn with a beautiful pinkish mauve evening frock, satin overlaid with lace.  Astonishingly I still have some tiny remnants of the lace fabric.  I can remember her wearing  these dresses and earrings when we lived in cyprus.  Before she and my father set out for whatever event at the Sergeants Mess, she would come into my bedroom and give me twirl.  I thought that she looked so very beautiful.
In other news, the hospital rang me and both x-ray and MRI are booked for this coming Saturday morning, so by the end of next week, I should know where I am.
Meanwhile. the four nations of the UK have issued a joint statement on their plans for UK wide Christmas arrangements.  I haven't read it yet but if you wish to, do follow my link!

Finally, many thanks to JDO for her November hosting of Tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.