The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Infill terrace houses and outbuildings

Thanks to all who said they are enjoying my houses of Stroud series, which I started with no forethought whatsoever. You have inspired me to carry on. Continuing the the theme of terraced houses, aka row homes in Penn, USA, I visited Horns Road this cold foggy morning.

Horns Road, a ribbon development beyond Trinity Church, above the former town shopping area, is fronted by a few villas and then some terraced housing. It's long and narrow, with great views over Rodborough hill and folly fort. I used to want to live there, in my terraced house fantasy life. The interesting part is that behind Horns road, an infill terrace has been built, between the front part of Horns Road and the back gardens of the Bisley Road, with its large gardens and Edwardian houses.

The houses are not large, and when I used to visit friends there a few years back, the typical layout would be: one or two public rooms, lean-to kitchen and small old fashioned bathroom downstairs; one bedroom and a "Walk-through room" upstairs, and an attic bedroom in a boxed staircase leading off the walk-through room. The gardens seemed to be either behind or in front. People who live there don't tend to erect high fences or hedges between gardens. Cars get parked in the road, which as you can see is more like a lane. What amused me about this infill terrace shot is the rather grand shed that has been constructed next to the dilapidated garages of various ages. The owners have even matched the paintwork with that of their car!

I'd say these are Victorian, which is rather vague, but then Victoria was on the throne for 64 years! We have a huge shed/cabin too, but you can't see it from the front, so we don't need to finish it in Dark Skoda Blue. From looking at the exterior of this one, I'd say it's probably a bit more neat and organised than ours is inside! This weekend I intend to start a bit of tidying around the garden/cabin/outside. It feels about time, fog or no fog.

OH! I have just noticed something on the right that I didn't succeed in cropping totally. I may return later with a re-cropped version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.