The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Before the Storm

The forecast isn't looking great so this snapshot is memorable for two reasons. First - I didn't need to worry about getting my gear wet or the photographer blowing away (a waterspout has been sighted and we've been under a tornado warning). Second - though I've tried (what seems like hundreds of times), this is the only decent image I've ever captured of a Marsh Hen, even on days when other birds cooperated with the crusty old photographer. You would think there was some sort of force field or magic spell surrounding them. I guess the 103rd times the charm.

Now, an explanation for the last week's wander through my photo archives and stories. I find that when I'm looking at pics I've taken over the years or I wander through your journals (frequently traveling "backwards" as another blipper noted) I'm reminded of a story or song or poem I've written or would very much like to write.

Last week was a trial run of sorts and I'm tempted to either set aside one day a week on this page to bridge that gap between the photograph and a thousand words or set up a seperate journal, perhaps calling it "The Bridge" or "Postcards and Poetry" or somesuch other folderol.

If you drop by tomorrow I'd appreciate your critiques and suggestions ... in the meantime be safe, be kind, and care.

*the extras are a trio I took on the same camera wander at Highland Pond, posted before they "time out"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.