Silver, by Virginia King

Finally got my act together, and yesterday contacted the Newmarket Nissan workshop about my car getting a rather overdue service. I forgave myself the delay because I’ve used it so rarely due to cycling every day to and from work, and the lockdowns preventing weekend jaunts. But the extended warranty needs regular services. So in it went. 

Walked from Newmarket to the unit at Auckland Hospital, and on the way saw a sculpture at the corner of Broadway and Khyber Pass Road. I have seen it before, usually when in a car, so today was the first photo I’ve taken of it. 

Virginia King is known for large sculptures, which reference the locale where they are placed. Silver is made of stainless steel, and is perforated by radiating elliptical discs. The circular, wheel-like form references the near-constant traffic at this corner. The sculpture rotates and moves on its axis acknowledging the circadian and annual rhythms of light and dark, and changing seasons.

On my walk back to collect my car this evening I walked by a manhole cover I had not seen before. Made by J Murphy Levin Ltd. I had thought it was likely rather old, and it shows distinct evidence of wear. However, the company was incorporated in 1960, so it may not be older than that. The extra shows it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.