My journey in Pictures

By Ella

The setting sun.....

It has been a difficult summer and my plans to immerse myself back into blip have gone awry.
The death of my father in July whilst not totally unexpected has proven to be somewhat harder to deal with, along with the current Pandemic.
I am sure I am not alone in planning a service to celebrate his life within Covid 19 guidelines and all the trauma that this inflicted on family and friends. 

My father was a huge influence in my life as a photographer with my earliest memories of his career as a photographer. In those early days it was  a family affair on the wedding day once the images were shot and developed/printed by my father,  my mother would  retouch the mounted   black and white wedding images before he returned to the wedding reception  to sell these wonderful images to the wedding guests.
As a teenager my Saturday job was to lug his photographic equipment to each wedding - an eye opener into the difficulties faced with this genre of photography.  I later went on to work full time in his Studio hand-developing and printing monochrome images for corporate clients.

Latterly, when he retired he took up wildlife photography as a hobby and as with his career was an extremely talented and dedicated photographer who greatly influenced my wildlife photography and we spent time away on the Farne Islands photographing the puffins together.
In recent years this vibrant and forceful man who suffered a stroke was chair bound and lost, unable to share in these ventures - I missed that man then and now....

This image is a tribute to this wonderful man whose light and inspiration has gone down with the setting sun - his memory and talents  passed onto his children and grandchildren continue on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.