Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Jessie's pudding

Today I made our Christmas pudding. The recipe came from my mother in law, Jessie. I think she started to use this recipe when she was first married. In the beginning she made one pudding for her own family. As the family grew, there was a pudding for each household, in the end five puddings, always wrapped in green and red cellophane.
 
When she was in her seventies, Jessie’s sight started to fail, and it became hard for her do the measuring and weighing of the pudding ingredients, so I would help with that. Later I helped with the stirring as well. I cherish the memory of those pudding making days I spent with her.
 
When Jessie moved to a retirement village, and no longer had her own kitchen, I started to make our pudding, and I haven’t missed a year since. Of course, I always use Jessie’s recipe.
 
The extra is Jessie’s original steamer which I use every year. It’s a bit battered, and it has had new handles soldered on, but it still does the job and it’s part of the tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.