Not the Pacific Northwest

Austin-Bergstrom International Airport is definitely one of the more interesting airports I've been in -- there's eye-catching art everywhere, even in the baggage claim area, including this collection of eight giant Gibson guitars atop baggage carousel 3.

They are among the 35 10-foot (3 meters ) tall fiberglass Gibson guitars painted by visual artists and celebrities during the "Austin GuitarTown " public arts project in 2006, presented by the Gibson Guitar company.

The guitars were auctioned off and raised $589,000 for four Austin-area charities: The Health Alliance for Austin Musicians, the Austin Museum of Art, American Youth Works, and the Austin Children's Museum.

It's been a long day of travel, but I'm very glad to be here with my sister M! Looking back this evening, I couldn't help comparing the weather at Seattle-Tacoma International Airport at 11 a.m. today, where I photographed the plane I would soon board for Austin, with the spectacular sunset here at about 6:30p.m.

(Bellingham has some colorful art too, including a new work that Phil blipped today.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.