Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

The Other Side (of the Eildons)

Another rag-bag of a day. Most of the morning went on WhatsApp chatting with the family -  Nat's birthday yesterday and Caitie's today generated a lot of online activity. Then I rang my dear friend of Yorkshire days, who also had a birthday this week. That was the morning gone. 

We went to Melrose after lunch for a few bits and pieces, and a walk around Bowden Loch. This is it, in the picture. It's the preserve of fishermen, but there were none to be disturbed today so we were able to do the circuit. 

This was taken around 3.30 pm, which is dusk here at this time of year. I'm impressed at my new phone's low light capabilities, much better than the big camera's, and it doesn't involve pain in the shoulder .....

Yesterday, on Ancestry, I  found some interesting information about TM's great-great grandfather. a seafaring man.

 I mentioned it to Magnus, our eldest son, who is very keen to find out all about his Viking heritage, and consequently I've been on the internet for ages tonight, sending him scans of seaman's tickets and records from 19th century hospitals. Anyone know what suppurating bubos might be?? 

I know I'm losing ground with comments, hopefully I'll catch up this weekend, before it becomes a lost cause.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.