Copenhagen Dreaming

By dennisjorgensen

Street Photography?

I have a great admiration for, especially the early (fifties and sixties) color street photographers.
What really defines good street photography? I've done a million of photographies in the street, but I would not put those into that category. I very seldomly depict strangers in my pictures, as I find it very difficult to intrude into their personal space. So I've always avoided it.
However I really want to get into it, as I am trying develop diverse skills. I have mostly photographed in colour so far, so additionally I've decided to take upon me yet another challenge; To shoot black and white.
So it's really very much out of my comfort zone. But that's kinda how I want it. I've done quite a bit of analogue photography, which is yet another approach. SLR's and TLR's.

I went out for ten minutes today after lunch, and this one was my best shot. There are some elements in it, that I like. Obviously the main subject, the smiling selfportraiting tourist. The DOF is good. I used a 55 mm analogue lens, so it does make nice DOF. Normally I would like the composition, but for street photography it might be too clean and controlled. The paradox is that I didn't compose the picture on purpose. I just put the camera to my eye and tried to focus (Which I didn't fully succeed in) and shoot before it was too late.
But all in all I am satisfied with my first attempt in street photography.
(I already know, I'll miss colour...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.