rower2012

By rower2012

Asian Spotted Dove

I spotted this dove landing on the bird feeder while eating my breakfast this morning. I rushed to grab the 300mm lens which happened to be on Paladian's camera. Good thing that I did, as it only stayed for about a minute before deciding I was too close for comfort!

See best in LARGE.

The Asian Spotted Dove (Streptopelia chinensis) commonly called just the Spotted Dove is native to eastern Asia. It was introduced into Australia in the mid-1800s and early 1900s and quickly became established.

It is now a common sight throughout eastern Australia, and around the major towns and cities in southern and south-western Australia.
This dove is common where ever there are people and can easily be seen in most parks, gardens and in many farm areas as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.