IN THE SMOKEHOUSE

Busy day today so I'm blipping a bit late for me as it's now 18:45 and will be settling down to watch His Dark Materials soon, it's on earlier tonight so it's a good job I've remembered.

This is my collection of smoking houses and smoking men, they originate from The Black Forest and although I've been to Germany I've never been to The Black Forest sadly.  I started collecting them when we had a fabulous Strudel Bar and Alpine cum Black Forest Gift Shop in Bath called Hansel and Gretel.  Sadly they moved on and have now got a B&B somewhere in Scotland.  They are incense burners really, just small cones placed inside of them to smoulder away but I've only ever tried it once to see what happens, the smoke would ruin them, I just love them as they remind me of man fabulous holidays in The Swiss and Austrian Alps..

Not good news from London but I suppose it was inevitable with all of those who flout the rules.  We have had to revise our plans a bit but I am fortunate with my Mum and Sister being local I can bring them over for the one day.  Traditionally Hubby and I have always taken Mum for a drive round The Lakes on Boxing Day and stopping off at Bowness, but obviously not this year now.  Also we can't see my Brother and his partner, but that's just the way it is.  We will be sticking to the rules.

In fact, in part, due to the hoards that were piling up at London Stations yesterday and packing trains out thereby spreading the virus around the country I won't be going anywhere else at all for some time to come. It's just not worth it and it wouldn't be fair on everyone else.

Once we've all been vaccinated and left it for a few months we will have a family get together in The Spring, maybe have an Easter party instead of a Christmas one - so long as we are all OK of course.

I do hope you are all well and not going to be totally on your own over Christmas.  If you are you can send me an email and I would be happy to chat to you over the phone.   I will be ensuring my elderly neighbours, especially those on their own are OK and have some form of contact over the Christmas season. I'd invite them over if it was allowed but at least I could speak to them on the doorstep, socially distanced of course if nothing else.

That's all for today, I will catch up on all your blips tomorrow.  Stay safe and take great care.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.