Happy Christmas

It’s been a really lovely day.

My day started with a walk to the cemetery where I called a mum I know from the boys junior school who lost a little boy six years ago, he would have been nine and is buried in the children’s section, the family moved away from the area last year, I occasionally visit Ronnie’s grave and send her snapshots and did so yesterday and when she told me that this is the first Christmas she wouldn’t be able to visit him I offered to FaceTime her, she was overjoyed and so very grateful, it was extremely emotional as you can imagine, I was there for quite a while showing her all the little decorations individually that mean so much to her and just let her talk to him then we walked around some of the other graves and she knew quite a lot of the people there and then a friend of hers turned up with her husband and daughter to visit her little girl who had passed away and overheard my friends voice and so I was able to hold the phone up and let them have a chat which was lovely.

Back home Max and I had bagels with salmon and cream cheese and a lovely coffee the boys were still asleep so we enjoyed the relative calm before the storm and face timed Grannie Gill Max’s mother.

Once the boys were up we spent an hour opening our stockings, stockings are a big deal in our house and we all really enjoyed them.

Then we opened our presents, Everyone was really pleased with what they received. We bought Gulliver a fantastic Jimi Hendrix music book which has the parts for the whole band not just Guitar for all his best work, we also bought him Rush double album Exit stage left and Steely Dan‘s greatest hits, while Max and I prepared the lunch was lovely to listen to him Playing along and learning songs well Zebedee was in the gym.

Of course the obligatory massive lunch with all the trimmings which was lovely but we didn’t eat until about 4 o’clock.

We caught up on Zoom with my dad and his wife, Janette and Erin and family and Lola and Dean, we sang some songs and played charades.

I also called my old friend Mary in Ireland who I’ve recently reconnected with, she was the stylist on top of the Pops when I performed with Goldbug, turned out she lived in the same road as me and we became great friends and I was actually with her the night that I met Max!

We also caught up with lovely Rachael Gilchrist and family in Perth Australia.

Had a long chat with my brother Tom too.

Flopped down on the sofa and watched The new George Clooney science fiction movie followed by an hour of festive Father Ted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.