Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Cardboard Cathedral

This cathedral is being built as an "interim cathedral" until a new cathedral is built or the old cathedral restored (there's an unseemly legal battle in the High Court at the moment over the two options - demolish or restore).

I'm afraid that while it's a fascinating building, I think it's a colossal waste of money - millions of dollars, to build a church that's not even necessary - there are other churches the cathedral congregation could and in fact are using now. In a broken city I feel the church could better spend the money, but I'm apparently not really entitled to an opinion since I'm not a church goer. However, I'm sure our rates will be helping to pay for it in some way, so maybe we do have the right to an opinion, although we have no real say in the matter!

I'm sure that a lot of people would disagree!

It's being called the cardboard cathedral because it is made of large cardboard tubes which you can see in the photo - or at least it was meant to be, but unfortunately no one in the world could make the tubes strong enough, so they have to be reinforced with steel and cement.

It is very small, which I find interesting, hard to see it as a cathedral!

I guess it will become a tourist attraction - well I hope so.

Today people were in a very sombre mood in the area as it's across the road from where over 100 people were killed in the CTV building, and also near the Empty Chairs art installation, with 185 chairs signifying the lost people. I's impossible not to feel moved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.