The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Friday 1st January 2021)

True to form I am already a day behind with my blips, as I do not intend to continue but will most likely find that I do. In 2019 I exceeded my goal of 366 blips comprising 266 actual blips and 100 extras but in 2020 with lockdowns, shielding, no Smokey, places being closed or having to book for in advance and so forth I fell far short of both targets. I hope conditions will allow more extensive blipping in 2021.
Those of you who were greatly troubled by my confession that I had overshot my grocery budget in December by £2.20, shocking I know, will feel immense relief at the finding that my overall monthly budget for the year was under the limit by a similar amount.
This was taken on my way back from my first grocery shop of the year. In fact I had to make two separate visits because a lens fell out of my spectacles there making my shopping list unreadable without great effort. Luckily I caught the lens and put it in my pocket, and made a return visit for the items I'd missed after I had repaired my glasses at home, when it was dark.
This old petrol pump is at the back of a wooden cabin that houses Trotman's hardware shop, and I have blipped it before but not for many years. With thanks to Marlieske for Derelict Sunday.

L.
2.1.2021 (1853 hr)

Blip #3344 (#3094 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2021 #001/265 + #000/100 Extras
Day #3934 (845 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2487 (#2328 + 159 in archived blips)

Calne series 
Textures and Colours series

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Nancy Wilson - What Are You Doing New Year's Eve? (1963)
I've known this song that dates from 1947 in multiple versions for many years including the first to chart, a doo-wop rendition by the Orioles, and a favourite of mine by Mary Margaret O'Hara (a previous LOTD) but only heard this inflential version by Nancy Wilson this Christmas. It would have been my NYE LOTD had I had a blip to post.
The song was composed in 1947 by Frank Loesser. According to Wikipedia, "In A Most Remarkable Fella: Frank Loesser and the Guys and Dolls in His Life, his daughter Susan Loesser explains that "the singer, madly in love, is making a (possibly rash) commitment far into the future. ("Maybe it's much too early in the game. Ah, but I thought I'd ask you just the same--What are you doing New Year's, New Year's Eve?") It always annoyed my father when the song was sung during the holidays"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.