Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Hippy Egg

This is one of the joke presents I got Colin for Christmas and we tried it out today. It plays 3 different tunes from the '60s to indicate the hardness of a boiled egg. If you're going to San Francisco, California Dreaming and House of the Rising Sun. It works too, I had a perfectly hard boiled egg and got to listen to each of the tunes 3 times during the cooking. The Scott Mckenzie song was one of the first singles I bought, in 1966 I think. I love the image of the guy on the packaging with his joint and headband! A successful wee pressie.
We're on lockdown again today so only went out to take a couple of returns to the post office and for a local walk. Met the neighbours doing the same thing as we got home again.
I've been writing to our local councillor about the difficulties key workers have with the logistics of travel to work, changed venues and hours of child care etc. I've asked if parking restrictions could be lifted, or failing that, if permits could be issued so that those who now have to use a car as opposed to their usual form of transport can be issued with temporary parking permits to allow on street parking when there is no other option. I first wrote in December when lockdown became likely and I saw how much angst it was all causing and wrote again today. I had a reply within 5 minutes and two follow on emails within an hour. Very effective.
Parking on street in Edinburgh, in the peripheral zones, where all day parking is actually allowed is very expensive and not actually near to workplaces in many cases. I've been impressed with her responses and that she has continued to raise it with those who can make decisions. It would make such a difference.

The FM endeared herself to me today when in response to questions she said that she just wanted to get jags into arms! Exactly! I can't believe some of the hoops those who could administer the vaccines are being put through.

Keep safe and well everybody, surely we can do this.

Thank you everybody for your kind words yesterday. It was just one of those days I'm afraid, today is better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.