AviLove

By avilover

Acanthisitta chloris

Day 4 of the Kepler Track. The last day. I woke early to the rustling of fellow trampers in their beds. I looked out the window on the Southern Alps, over which a band of orange, yellow, and indigo had formed in the first light of the day. Like a shot I was out of bed and decked in plentiful layers to watch the sun come up in the frosty mountain air. It was a beautiful sunrise, a precious gift for the effort, and one that brought tears to my eyes.

I was back at the carpark by 11:45, having blasted through the last 13.8 km in three hours. I met some more Riflemen, as well as a male and female Tomtit, on the way down. Four days of attempts and this is about the best shot I could get of a Rifleman, a completely spastic and tiny bird that waits for no cameraman (or camerawoman). I'm happy that at least you can tell it's a Rifleman, as opposed to a blur with feathers.

Back in Te Anau now, I'm about to do absolutely nothing for at least 36 hours. Because on Wednesday I'm back on the trail. Next up is Caples Track into the Routeburn Great Walk, a tramp of similar distance, time, and climbing.

For a hundredth time my feet (who are stuck inside my shoes and so cannot see the amazing mountains and forests and birds and sunsets that I get to see) are asking me, why exactly are we doing this again?

Backblips start here, on 17th February.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.