JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 7: afternoon sun in the valley

Today, after days of rain, the sun finally appeared and I dragged my reluctant daughter away from her computer and wheeled her to the other end of the village and back. I anxiously chose the route with the widest roads and paths, and the few people we saw exchanged smiles and friendly greetings from a cautious distance. We have been shielding since March, because my daughter is at high risk of serious illness from corona virus, and with the new variant rampaging through Kent, even our quiet local walks are starting to feel a little less safe. The view across the valley is from the garden behind the village hall: I love the winter colours of our Downs landscape, especially the warm orange of willow branches, and the varied textures of the trees and hedgerows. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.