Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Road trip to Singapore - Day 6

Road trip to Singapore - Day 6

Continued from day 5.

Reference - exchange rates:
one pound approx Rp15,000
one US$ approx Rp10,000

After an excellent nights sleep, I packed up my stuff and managed to find Mr. Tony to thank him for the hundredth time and wish him well on life's voyage. The two officers at the tax desk waved me through and didn't charge me the Rp6,000 which was rather splendid, no idea why, except that I did have a pleasant natter with them yesterday. In no time at all the continuation of the journey was under way, the ferry started moving at 07:30. After a sluggish and unproductive couple of days, I really felt that progress was going to be made today.

The blipped image is of a fellow passenger on the ferry, who for no reason at all, bought me a cup of coffee. We were just chatting and he had no idea of my story. Perhaps he could read the stress that I was feeling, as this was the make or break day. If negotiations didn't go well today, I would have to scrounge and beg to make it home, or at least sell my hand phone.

Arrived at Buton and started the search for transportation to Pekanbaru. Sure enough, no buses. A lot of people are making a lot of money, charging Rp100,000 per head for a ride to Pekanbaru, I don't think I have ever seen so many private people carrier type cars in one place.

As the car park emptied out, I eventually managed to negotiate a seat for Rp70,000, which represented a saving of Rp20,000. I got the short straw, stuck on the end of the rear seat, one of those fold down affairs. I looked like a curled up preying mantis. A horrible ride with all the bumps, I was a physical wreck at the end of the four hour trip, but at least some Rupiah saved.

As we approached the large city of Pekanbaru, I requested the bus terminal, but not every Indonesian is helpful and he dumped me in the middle of town. I had no idea where I was or where I was going. This was probably going to cost me the Rupiah that I had just saved.

A really tattered, beat up angkutan kota, the Indonesian bus service that keeps the cities moving, pulled up. I don't think I have seen one in such bad shape, but it could solve my problem. I mentioned 'bus terminal' and got a positive vibe back, so I climbed into the front seat. I felt a slight rip from my shorts, but with the spare tire in the foot well forcing my knees into my chest and my rucksack on my knees, I couldn't worry about that now.

About a mile into the journey he announced that he wanted Rp25,000 for the service. How outrageous, like I have idiot tattooed across my forehead. I decided to play him back and feigned a negotiation to use up another mile or two and then gave up and said, "Kiri kiri" which means pull over and I started walking back to a bus stop that I had just seen.

The driver circled the block and approached me again, this time with an improved attitude and my asking price of Rp10,000. It really was still the wrong price, but I got back in, the back this time. Another few miles and he dropped me at a locket (ticket office).

I mentioned Bandung as my final destination, expecting to be offered a ticket to Bandar Lampung, as on the journey out. To my amazement, he offered me a connection to Bandung. I could not read the price without my glasses, nor understand the Sumatran language which is different to Java, so he wrote it down on paper for me. I could not believe my eyes, Rp340,000, a massive saving and not only that, but the bus was ready to move as soon as I boarded, now 17:30.

The back seat was vacant, the bus was in fairly good condition and the A/C worked. I couldn't stretch my legs out full length, but at least I could lie down across the three seats. Now moving, things are looking up as a good day draws to an end.

To be continued

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.