Double, double toil and trouble... long overdue

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn, and cauldron bubble


Best thing about the Christmas period is being able to catch up with people again. 

It was in 2019 that I finally caught up with Billy, after a long hiatus of almost 40 years - victims of circumstance rather than choice, I think. Billy is the son of one of my mum's best friends, and when my mum died in 1982, the trail between our houses went definitively cold.

In 2019, before I had started blipping - but in fact only a day or two before Raheny_Eye convinced me to try it during a trip to Dublin, I met up with Billy again in Central Station, Liverpool, and we went for a couple of pints and a meal around Mathew Street.

It was as if the past 40 years had never happened, and we parted at the end of the night, slightly wobbly on legs but once again firm friends.

So a Skype call this Christmas was the excuse for a two-hour chat on the value of life, love, friendship, family, the Llyn Peninsula, Everton, friendship again, higher education, lower education, why the Tories are such twats and many other subjects that disappeared into the recesses of my mind to be recalled at 4 a.m. the next time I cannot sleep.

I love Christmas, me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.