Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

Cherub

It's Sunday, so here's the inside of a stone church. I often find cherub sculptures more spooky than angelic. This one no exception.

I like visiting old churches. I enjoy the artistry of subtle variations on the basic cross-shaped floorplan, and the sense that you're directly connecting with the work of craftsmen who lived hundreds of years ago.

I am not a fan of any of the big-book-based religions, but I do like the idea of church, a place where people come together to mark the major events, births and weddings and deaths; and to spend a bit of time in reflection and in giving thanks.

But I guess you don't need the shelter of a stone building for any of that. Often when I climb a mountain or walk in a forest or sit by a riverbank I find myself wanting to say "thank you", especially in the mountains, though I've never worked out who or what it is that I'm thanking.

Oops, rambling. Anyhow, here is a spooky cherub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.