sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Orange Bus Stop Bloke

Seventh in my series, The Regulars

Orange Bus Stop Bloke is the newest of The Regulars. I've only been seeing him for the past few weeks, whereas most of The Regulars have been part of my life for several months, if not years.

He is, however, the most regular of The Regulars. He is there every day when I walk past that bus stop on the way to work. Most of The Regulars I see most days; Orange Bloke I see every day.

He is also the most boring of The Regulars. He waits at the bus stop. That's it. Usually he's standing, today he was sitting, but that's the only variation.

Here's the interesting part... That bus stop is no longer a bus stop. Not since the tramworks started on Princes Street. Yet Orange Bloke is there every day, waiting... So I imagine his life...

He gets up in the morning... puts on his orange jacket and his orange hat... (or maybe he doesn't need to put them on, maybe he sleeps in them...)... He walks to the bus stop... gets there at about 8... and waits... and waits... and waits... after a while, maybe at about 9, he shrugs his shoulders, lets out a deep sigh, and walks back home... and goes back to bed. Maybe he just enjoys waiting at the bus stop, resplendent in his orangeness. Maybe he's a descendant of Vladimir and Estragon... or I should perhaps say Vladimir or Estragon, as it's unlikely that he would be a descendant of both of them...

OK, it's more likely that another Orange Bloke rolls up in a minibus and picks him up at 8.30, but that's not how things work in my world :-)

I'm taking a long long weekend this weekend, so tomorrow is Friday for me. Hooray!

Previous entries in this series

Cigarette Guy

Newspaper Man

Beanie Hat

The Twins

Stressed Girl

Brother and Sister

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.