DERELICT SUNDAY - YOU CHOOSE!

We had a great Zoom Church service this morning when we were encouraged during the start of a new sermon series, “Encounters with Jesus”, to rediscover the essence of who we really are and who God wants us to be today.  There was much to think and pray about - which we will do in the next few days as we listen again - which is one of the beauties of having online church, as I’m sure many are beginning to realise, we can hear the sermon more than once!

Afterwards we went out for some exercise, when there were lots of people about and a lot more cars than usual for a Sunday.  We did wonder what the lockdown meant to various people and even more so when a cyclist came very close to us and I reminded him that he should be two metres away from us.  Having ridden past us, very close, he turned and shouted “It’s only flu!” 

That was one encounter that wasn’t too pleasant, but then as we walked along a disused road further on, we met the lovely couple in the top picture of my collage - and what a delight to stop and chat to them.  It started because I was taking a photograph of a derelict house and as I noticed the lady looking at me rather quizzically, I just said that if they were wondering why I was taking a shot of that, it was because we were out looking for dereliction - so I then explained about Blip - as you I do!  

This resulted in a physically distanced conversation with them for a few minutes, so as we prepared to take our leave, I asked if I could take their photograph for my Blip and they were happy to oblige.  Fortunately I had my selfie stick, which meant I could be even further away from them.  What a lovely couple - and they obviously had the same values and outlook as us, and it certainly made up for the cyclist we met earlier.  The man wanted to know the name of the website, so I gave it to him, so if he manages to find me, then a BIG THANK YOU to him and his wife for being such lovely people!

We told them we were retired, but they said they were still working - although the lady said she has no choice about going into her place of work - she explained that she worked for a Funeral Director, so not a job that can be done from home!

As we parted company, I said that I would forget the dereliction for today - but soon after, I spotted this derelict postbox on a gate just along the road, so there is a little dereliction for today - unless of course, you feel that the couple at the bottom right are looking a tad derelict.  You choose!

“Life is beautiful 
     not because of the things 
          we see or do.
Life is beautiful 
     because of the people 
          we meet.”
Simon Sinek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.