Mighty Oak

This white oak is probably around 250 years old.  Perched on a very steep slope, it was hard to get a complete shot of it without falling.

Sunshine today!  I met JZ at Sulphur Springs where there were ice sculptures in the river and on branches.  After lunch, Mr Mole took me to Forest Ridge Preserve in Moreland Hills for my first hike there. He used to hike it often and come home completely drenched.  It was steep and rugged, with an elevation of over 1,000 feet, so that checked off my aerobic exercise for the day. 

I had a bird collage together for Wild Wednesday, but decided this sturdy white oak tree was better to honor my mom who would have been 94 today. She was a tough bird, but in the years since she's passed, I've leaned on memories of her more than I expected I would.  xx

Thanks for your kind visits and comments.

Mighty Oak
Forest Ridge Preserve
Moreland Hills, OH

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.