At the limits

I've tried before to get a decent moon pic, but with another clear sky and a full moon I thought I'd give it a go. I think my telephoto is a little short (200mm max) for a really good shot.
So the moon on the left is probably close to the best I can do with my current kit.

But what's that on the right?
The relatively narrow aperture of the lens really hinders any sort of hand-held moonlit landscape image. Still, I thought I'd try and cranked up the ISO and slowed down the shutter as much as I dared without introducing too much camera shake.
Result?
The proverbial black cat in a coal cellar, with a dazzling moon.
But shooting RAW there's a bit of leeway, right?
And post-processing can push it further still, at which point the chimney and rooftops began to appear, almost like developing a print in the dark room.
Only problem was that noise also appeared and took over the sky.
Except.
There's something about it I quite like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.