DERELICT SUNDAY

After a good service at Zoom Church and as the sun was still shining, we decided to go out for a walk before we had our lunch.

There were quite a lot of people about, but physical distancing was well managed by most of them - the ones on bikes were still the culprits as far as not adhering to it was concerned, but everyone else was very good and we all said our “Thank you’s” as we passed by.

We decided to walk a different way round today but I thought I would go back to take a shot of the derelict houses near The Spotted Cow public house that we had seen last week.  The two semi-detached, red brick houses are surrounded by high fencing, obviously designed to keep people out, probably put up by the purchasers/developers.  However, I didn’t particularly want the fence in the shot so was glad I had remembered to bring my selfie stick, so it was quite easy to wiggle that and my iPhone through the fencing surrounding the houses, that have been empty for sometime and have now become derelict.  

I have looked online and also on our old Ordnance Survey maps but cannot find out anything about these two houses, the only clue is that on the front of them is a builder’s stone that says 1902.  We can only assume that they have been purchased by the developers of the new housing estate at the rear of the properties and that they will eventually be demolished and new houses built on the site, which is quite extensive.

Just along the road, there used to be a Primitive Methodist Chapel, built in 1828, but that has now been demolished, and no doubt, in due course, houses will be built on there.  A little further along this road, on the same side is the Spotted Cow public house, but of course, this has been closed for sometime and is likely to remain closed for the foreseeable future.

So the ownership of these two houses remains a mystery and meanwhile they become more derelict, I’m sure those who live behind on the new housing estate will be pleased when something is done about them.  Mr. HCB and I both said that if someone could buy them both and make them into one dwelling, they would make a lovely house, because they look as if they have some interesting features.

They did look a little boring, so I have used a couple of my apps, Lightleap and Snapseed, to add some interest and it gave me something to do!

“When I have a camera in my hand,
     I know no fear.”
Alfred Eisenstaedt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.