Brotographer

By Brotographer

VARSITYYYYY!

Early wake up call, took the car with Shane, and off we go sticking cardboard signs all over campus for Erin's campaign for Education Officer! I've never seen such a busy Monday morning here, it was actually quite fun. The rest of the day was spent working, chilling with friends, in lectures, playing with Zhi's 80-200mm f/2.8 and having a drink with Rach.

After, Shane and me got on the first bus for Planet Ice, Coventry. VARSITY ICE HOCKEY! The first match of the famous Coventry vs. Warwick rivalry every year. I shot it last time and the atmosphere was awesome. This year, it was even better, with the arena packed out! We were losing throughout the whole game, but the last third was really tense, as we made a comeback. We ended up losing 7-11, but who cares, we'll beat Coventry at Varsity anyways (like last time, and the time before, and the time before, and before...). This is Veit's team, which put up a great effort.

I shot the whole game from in between the two benches (the "photographer's pit"), an improvement from last year, and was joined by a bunch of other photographers including Shane and Jack, and some L-lens wielding dudes. Hey, its not about the kit! Although I was using the 80-200 which is the most massive chunk of metal lens I've ever used. Using it almost exclusively was awesome, even though it did leave my elbows pretty tired and the texture of the focal ring imprinted in my hand (the thing weighs several kilos...). It was smooth operation with the D90, but I gotta say the autofocusing on the lens was quite slow, and I ended up with a lot of bad shots for that reason.
Time to slug through no less than 775 photos now. Never shot at this rate in my life, but I got some awesome fight photos.

Altogether an awesome albeit very tiring day!

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.